Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

~*~ the here and now. ~*~ the done and gone. ~*~ who am i? ~*~ find more like me ~*~
say something to me. ~*~ what they've said about me. ~*~ feel left out? ~*~ get pretty. ~*~

scared shitless.
2006-01-02, 8:09 p.m.

current mood: praying for numbness, holding back the tears again.

current song: everlong by the foo fighters. accoustic.

hello
i've waited here for you
everlong
tonight i throw myself into
and out of the red
out of her head she sang

come down
and waste away with me
down with me
slow how
you wanted it to be
i'm over my head
out of her head she sang

and i wonder
when i sing along with you
if everything could ever feel this real forever
if anything could ever be this good again
the only thing i'll ever ask of you
you've got to promise not to stop when i say when

breathe out
so i can breathe you in
hold you in
and now i know you've always been
out of your head
out of my head i sang

and i wonder
when i sing along with you
if everything could ever feel this real forever
if anything could ever feel this good again
the only thing i'll ever ask of you
you got to promise not to stop when i say when

i don't know if i can do this job. i'm waiting for the point when i can detatch - when i can let go of what i see. when i can stop feeling. i'm waiting for my paradigm shift. i know it'll come, but when?

i can't bring myself to do cpr on some 80-something year old lady who probably won't survive anyways. but i also don't know if i can watch her die if she's got a dnr. i don't know if i'm ready for this at all. maybe with more practice. maybe with more ride time.

maybe in a week, maybe in a month. these fleeting thoughts of inadequacy are circling above me, waiting for the moment i falter so they can pick my bones clean. is this my fault?

i can't stand it; i'll fucking say it. i'm scared senseless. i'm petrified. what happens if i fuck up and someone dies and it's my fault? i can't live with blood on my hands. not yet. i'm not ready to be responsible for someone else - fuck, i can barely take care of myself. i've been way tachycardic and way hypertensive since i started, more so than usual, and i think that's normal for the job. it's stressful, even to vets. but i'm back to the old insomnia. i'm losing my mind. and i'm more depressed than i've ever been in my life.

i need some strong liquor, and i need to sleep. if i keep this up i'll be back to the pain pills, and my ulcer of all things can't take that. do i stay with this? do i quit now before i'm even more fucked up? what do i do? do i go back to the world of mindless foodservice, where all i have to do is smile and bring the food out? i can't believe i'm considering that.

i can't believe that i'm not stronger than this. i'm weak and i'm foolish and i'm scared; i'm all the things i never wanted to be. i'm all the things i swore i'd never be. i thought i'd desensitized myself to all this.

the last thing i want to do is break down while i've got a patient. what makes this all worse is that i can't fucking drive yet, so i don't get a break. it's jump on in and hold your nose and pray the sharks don't eat you...

~*~ immediate yesterday. ~*~ divination. ~*~

~*~ entries from 2002 ~*~ entries from 2003 ~*~ entries from 2004 ~*~ entries from 2005 ~*~ entries from 2006 ~*~ entries from 2007 ~*~ entries from 2008 ~*~ entries from 2009 ~*~


sign in for me, would you, dears?
get your own guestbook here