Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

~*~ the here and now. ~*~ the done and gone. ~*~ who am i? ~*~ find more like me ~*~
say something to me. ~*~ what they've said about me. ~*~ feel left out? ~*~ get pretty. ~*~

i went back to ohio.
2007-03-21, 4:31 a.m.

current mood: tired but restless.

current song: if you know me well enough you know what i'm listening to: my city was gone by the pretenders.

i went back to ohio
but my city was gone
there was no train station
there was no downtown
south howard had dissapeared
all my favourite places
my city had been pulled down
reduced to parking spaces
a, o, way to go ohio


well i went back to ohio
but my family was gone
i stood on the back porch
there was nobody home
i was stunned and amazed
my childhood memories
slowly swirled past
like the wind in the trees
a, o, oh way to go ohio

i went back to ohio
but my pretty countryside
had been paved down the middle
by a government that had no pride
the farms of ohio
had been replaced by shopping malls
and muzak filled the air
from seneca to cuyahoga falls
i said ah a, o, oh, way to go ohio

i came back to ohio but unfortunately my city was still here. it was a bittersweet homecoming, as it always is... almost all my memories are in ohio. most of my friends, and my immediate family are here as well.

i love all of you, but i need to get out. there is a world out there; a stunning mind-bogglingly big world forged by men in defiance of nature sprawling out begging to be explored. there is life outside these crude walls. there is more. and i am not scared of it; i welcome the opportunity to broaden my literal horizons. i am begging for the chance to see even but a sliver of this strange and wonderful earth.

the tide of my restlessness grows stronger with every worn footstep i trace in this town. i can almost feel the grooves, warn in the earth by my usual routine, soon to become ruts that swallow me. i am tired of breathing the same air, and weary of feeling the same breeze. it is not a wind of change but a wind of confinement, blowing the same cold breaths down the back of my neck, almost begging me to stay.

but stay, i fear, i cannot. the words i speak in my sleep are a breathy orison to the planet, imploring it to shift the ground beneath my feet to somewhere, anywhere else. my eyes glazed, my voice hollow, my actions reiterated again and again with the same feeble prayer of change.

i have too many obligations here to just pack my car and go. what a pity, because i would have already been gone.

goodnight my darlings.

~*~ immediate yesterday. ~*~ divination. ~*~

~*~ entries from 2002 ~*~ entries from 2003 ~*~ entries from 2004 ~*~ entries from 2005 ~*~ entries from 2006 ~*~ entries from 2007 ~*~ entries from 2008 ~*~ entries from 2009 ~*~


sign in for me, would you, dears?
get your own guestbook here