Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

~*~ the here and now. ~*~ the done and gone. ~*~ who am i? ~*~ find more like me ~*~
say something to me. ~*~ what they've said about me. ~*~ feel left out? ~*~ get pretty. ~*~

reflections of the way life used to be...
2008-09-02, 6:07 p.m.

current mood: reflective.

current song: beethoven's 9th, sherzo movement. i will always love you, stanley kubrick.

i hate it when i'm sitting somewhere, and i get caught up in a moment that is long gone. i was thinking today about the swami trick - essentially, i would sit in front of this japanese style screen that was in the living room, a towel wrapped around my head, with the tin penny whistle that my mother hated so much she took it from the house and threw it out the car window somewhere on the turnpike. in front of me sat a basket. in the basket was a stuffed snake, with a piece of fishing line. and behind the screen sat my sister chelsey, back when she used to participate in my madness.

basically, the audience would show up (dad, alex, and aj since mom was always too cool to laugh with us), and i would noodle about on the penny whistle. chels would pull on the fishing line, and the snake would rise out of the basket and dance. the first time my father saw this he exploded in laughter - tears streaming down his face as he clutched his stomache and sat on the floor. he called it ingenious.

it just makes me remember my mother, sitting in the kitchen away from us, in her sweats, bitching about the penny whistle.

~*~ immediate yesterday. ~*~ divination. ~*~

~*~ entries from 2002 ~*~ entries from 2003 ~*~ entries from 2004 ~*~ entries from 2005 ~*~ entries from 2006 ~*~ entries from 2007 ~*~ entries from 2008 ~*~ entries from 2009 ~*~


sign in for me, would you, dears?
get your own guestbook here