Creative Commons License
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-Noncommercial-Share Alike 3.0 Unported License.

~*~ the here and now. ~*~ the done and gone. ~*~ who am i? ~*~ find more like me ~*~
say something to me. ~*~ what they've said about me. ~*~ feel left out? ~*~ get pretty. ~*~

the hedgehog's dilemma, part 2.
2004-07-02, 5:50 a.m.

current mood: mellow and contemplative, but not quite sad. retrospective and introspective.

current song: evaporated by ben folds five

what i've kept with me
and what i've thrown away
don't know where the hell i've ended up
on this glary, random day
were the things i really cared about
just left along the way?
for being to pent up and proud

woke up way too late
feeling hung over and old
and the sun was shining bright
and i walked barefoot
down the road
started thinking about
my old man
it seems that all men
wanna get into a car and go
anywhere

here i stand - sad and free
i can't cry and i can't see
what i've done
god...what have i done?

don't you know i'm numb, man
no, i can't feel a thing at all
'cause it's all smiles and business these days
and i'm indifferent to the loss
i've faith that there's a soul somewhere
who's leading me around
i wonder if she knows
which way is down...

here i stand - sad and free
i can't cry and i can't see
what i've done
god...what have i done?

i poured my heart out
i poured my heart out
it evaporated...see?

blind man on a canyon's edge
of a panoramic scene
or maybe i'm a kite
that's flying high and random
dangling a string
or slumped over in a vacant room
head on a stranger's knee
i'm sure back home
they think i've lost my mind.

here i stand - sad and free
i can't cry and i can't see
what i've done
god...what have i done?

oh man, do i love me some ben folds. i don't really have anything to say today. i'm just sitting here thinking about life. about how people i've loved have come and gone, lived and died, and that to people i've loved i've come and gone, lived and will die some day as well. life is so big, and there's not enough time to explore all of it. that's the one thing that people don't understand about me - my wanderlust is insatiable. staying in one place for too long kills me. knowing the same people for too long gets old. i guess that i'm a bad person for this. maybe i'm better off alone.

i seem to thrive when i'm left to my own devices, though i must admit that i do have a certain amount of dependance on people in the world around me.

i guess i'm still trying to figure out my function in this world. i know that i'll probably never figure it out, but i'd at least like to try.

i guess i've been selfish in my life a lot. i've used quite a few people i didn't care about, and i've hurt the people i did and do care about.

there are a lot of song lyrics that sound like me. lately i'm reminded of the lyrics to the package by a perfect circle. it goes like this:

clever got me this far
then tricky got me in
eye on what i'm after
i don't need another friend

smile and drop the clich�
'til you think i'm listening
i take just what i came for
then i'm out the door again

i'm a hedgehog. i can't help it. getting too close to me will get you pricked by my quills, no matter how much i'd like you to get close to me. it's an unfortunate side effect of who i am, and i suppose there's nothing that i can do to change it. but enough on that. i'm just reliving the pain of hurting everyone i love.

so there's a ghost in my kitchen. the nurse and i sat around yesterday and played with the ouija board that used to be my mom's when she was a kid. he wanted to know why i was in his house. i don't know...it was weird. now i keep turning around feeling like there's someone looking at me. i don't like it. i don't know what to do about it either. i guess i'm just rambling to change the subject. i'm out.

~*~ immediate yesterday. ~*~ divination. ~*~

~*~ entries from 2002 ~*~ entries from 2003 ~*~ entries from 2004 ~*~ entries from 2005 ~*~ entries from 2006 ~*~ entries from 2007 ~*~ entries from 2008 ~*~ entries from 2009 ~*~


sign in for me, would you, dears?
get your own guestbook here